Charles Sturt University (CSU) was established in 1989 as a multi-campus institution and has grown into a dynamic and progressive University that is well-known for its innovative approach to education and applied research.

Our eight Australian campuses at Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Canberra, Dubbo, Goulburn, Orange, Parramatta and Wagga Wagga provide local access to higher education across New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory and Victoria.

Our capacity for flexible delivery and international reputation for online learning provide access to educational opportunity throughout Australia and the world.  As a national University, Charles Sturt attracts more than 10,000 students from across metropolitan NSW and an additional 6000 from every State and Territory in Australia.

To address our commitment to making a positive contribution to the wider Australian community and to participating in the internationalisation of higher education, Charles Sturt University delivers educational opportunities to more than 5800 students around the globe, with more than 500 students at Study Centres in Sydney and Melbourne and our campus in Ontario, Canada.

Through our network of campuses, and in close association with industry, professions and government, we are committed to maintaining a course and research profile that meets the needs and supports the aspirations of our communities, and contributes to the enrichment of inland Australia.

We consider our inland, national and international roles to be integrally linked and mutually reinforcing. We believe that the University's success in attracting national and international students strengthens the programs it is able to offer its inland communities. The University’s inland location enables it to make a distinctive national and international contribution in such fields as health sciences, food and water security, environmental sustainability and economic prosperity.

The University's four faculties (Arts, Business, Education and Science) comprise a number of schools and centres. Faculties operate across campuses and are responsible for developing and delivering courses, while schools are generally based on a single campus and carry responsibility for teaching subjects. Administrative and academic support services are provided by the divisions, centres and offices which operate across the University’s campuses.

Research is conducted through institutes and centres located across the University’s campuses.  The University hosts the Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE ) which is an Australian Research Council (ARC) Special Research Centre and is a partner in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Policing and Security.

The University has four Centres of Research Excellence (CAPPE; the EH Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation; the Institute for Land, Water and Society [ILWS] and Research Institute for Professional Practice Learning and Education [RIPPLE]); four Strategic Research Centres (the National Wine and Grape Industry Centre [NWGIC]; the Centre for Research in Complex Systems [CRiCS]; the UNECSO International Centre of WATER for Food Security [IC: WATER]; and Public and Contextual Theology [PACT]); and six Problem Focussed Research Groups (PFRGs).  The University is also a partner in six Cooperative Research Centres - Future Farm Industries, Cotton Catchment Communities, Irrigation Futures, Spatial Information, Pork and Plant Biosecurity.

Charles Sturt University's Australian Graduate School of Policing (AGSP) is co-located with the Australian Institute of Police Management (AIPM) in Manly, and offers a range of postgraduate courses in policing through distance education.

The AIPM was established 50 years ago and has been integral in developing police managers and executives through its management and leadership programs.

Institute programs have a reputation for outstanding quality through the involvement of senior executives from the corporate sector as presenters in the programs, bringing a wealth of diversity and experience to classroom activities.

The Australian Institute of Police Management Library has been developed as a professional police management and leadership resource centre of excellence.

The library prides itself on providing current quality information, which supports professional development for the Australasian policing community. Visit the library website:

Situated on the foreshores of Sydney Harbour, north-east of Sydney's central business district, Manly has a rich heritage and culture, great shopping, dining and family attractions.

Training offer

This site uses cookies.
If you continue navigating, the use of cookies is deemed to be accepted.
See more  |